Skip to Content

Article 107. Presiding in Parliament

(1) At any sitting of a House of Parliament–

  • (a) the Speaker presides;
  • (b) in the absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker presides; and
  • (c) in the absence of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker, another member of the House elected by the House presides.

(2) At a joint sitting of the Houses of Parliament, the Speaker of the National Assembly shall preside, assisted by the Speaker of the Senate.