Skip to Content

Article 127. Parliamentary Service Commission

(1) There is established the Parliamentary Service Commission.

(2) The Commission consists of–

  • (a) the Speaker of the National Assembly, as chairperson;
  • (b) a vice-chairperson elected by the Commission from the members appointed under paragraph (c);
  • (c) seven members appointed by Parliament from among its members of whom–
    • (i) four shall be nominated equally from both Houses by the party or coalition of parties forming the national government, of whom at least two shall be women; and
    • (ii) three shall be nominated by the parties not forming the national government, at least one of whom shall be nominated from each House and at least one of whom shall be a woman; and
  • (d) one man and one woman appointed by Parliament from among persons who are experienced in public affairs, but are not members of Parliament.

(3) The Clerk of the Senate shall be the Secretary to the Commission.

(4) A member of the Commission shall vacate office–

  • (a) if the person is a member of Parliament–
    • (i) at the end of the term of the House of which the person is a member; or
    • (ii) if the person ceases to be a member of Parliament; or
  • (b) if the person is an appointed member, on revocation of the person’s appointment by Parliament.

(5) Despite clause (4), when the term of a House of Parliament ends, a member of the Commission appointed under clause (2) (c) shall continue in office until a new member has been appointed in the member’s place by the next House.

(6) The Commission is responsible for–

  • (a) providing services and facilities to ensure the efficient and effective functioning of Parliament;
  • (b) constituting offices in the parliamentary service, and appointing and supervising office holders;
  • (c) preparing annual estimates of expenditure of the parliamentary service and submitting them to the National Assembly for approval, and exercising budgetary control over the service;
  • (d) undertaking, singly or jointly with other relevant organisations, programmes to promote the ideals of parliamentary democracy; and
  • (e) performing other functions–
    • (i) necessary for the well-being of the members and staff of Parliament; or
    • (ii) prescribed by national legislation.