Skip to Content

Article 7. National, Official and Other Languages

(1) The national language of the Republic is Kiswahili.

(2) The official languages of the Republic are Kiswahili and English.

(3) The State shall –

  • (a) promote and protect the diversity of language of the people of Kenya; and
  • (b) promote the development and use of indigenous languages, Kenyan Sign language, Braille and other communication formats and technologies accessible to persons with disabilities.